True Whole30-ists would say that you are not really making it through Whole30 unless you commit to all 30 days without cheating once.  And while I will completely agree, like any other “lifestyle” I think you have to give yourself a little leniency here and there in order to stay sane and motivated.  So I am 2 weeks in with only 2 pretty minor slip ups . But that is ok, because honestly I would love to say I am going to stick pretty paleo moving forward as I know how good that would be for me.

But if can I be honest, both times I cheated I felt like crap the next day.  Both mentally (mad at myself for cheating) and physically (once just felt sluggish and out of it, and the other I actually woke up with my first pretty bad head cold of the season).  And as a result it has really reinforced how much your health is really affected by what you put in your body.

So this weekend was the NSCAA (Soccer Coaches) convention in Baltimore, which is an event I look forward to every year.  Some of the most amazing coaches from all over the world, some great sessions and seminars, and wonderful opportunities to catchup and network with friends and colleagues that you have met from over the years. And thus I could not be more upset that I had to cut it short because of how sick I got…just no fun.

C’est La Vie.

So in true male format I found myself at home, on the couch, whining like a 2 year old about how sick I was.  My wonderful girlfriend did her best to accommodate, which basically just meant walking the dog and making me food.  She’s rad.  Which leads me to our one major food discovery this week…

Whole30 Pancakes:

Ripe bananas (2), Almond Butter (1/4 Cup), Eggs (3), Cinnamon (1-2 tspn)-all mixed in a bowl to pancake batter consistency.  Made like 8 pancakes.  Then she just used Blueberries, Arrowroot powder (thickening agent) and water (didn’t have apple juice or orange juice-which would’ve made it sweeter) reduced to a nice syrupy consistency.

Pancake

Its not the best picture but you get the idea.

So like almost every paleo/whole 30 recipe, these are a fantastic substitute for a meal that is loaded with carbs, sugars and fats. So, can you tell the difference, 100% yes.  But are they something you could get used to if you ate them consistently?  Without a doubt.  Not to mention, pure maple syrup is Paleo (not Whole 30 Compliant) and if that was the topping, they would be phenomenal.

So what I have realized this second time around is that a Paleo lifestyle is totally manageable.  Does it take a little more effort? Sure.  Does it require to you plan in advance? Absolutely.  But for me not feeling bloated after every meal, no morning sluggishness, and to be honest less guilt about knowing I have filled my body with crap, really can make this completely worth it.

Not to mention as of this morning I am down 8 lbs in the two weeks.

Enjoy your Holiday Weekend Everyone.

(Oh Side Note…the Arrowroot powder mentioned above worked brilliantly to crisp up Sweet potato fries.  These are one of my favorite Whole30 dishes as I totally feel like I a cheating)

Quick Recipe-Used 3 Sweet Potatoes

Peel and Cut the Sweet Potato into fries.  Throw in a put of boiling water for 1 minute and then immediately into a big bowl with ice water for another minute.  Pat dry.

Toss in Ziplock bag with 3 Table Spoons of Olive Oil, 2 Table Spoons of Arrow Root Powder and any spices you desire (I used Salt, Pepper and Old Bay), and shake it all up.

Space out (don’t let them touch) on a baking sheet covered in Parchment paper and bake at 400 for 15 minutes.  Flip them and bake again fro 15 minutes.

Used some hot sauce and Paleo ranch for dipping.  Killer.

 

 

